Utah Brewery Map

Tuesday, January 31, 2006

Other Stupid Liquor Laws

Utah is home to some pretty fucked-up liquor laws, as we all know. Here are are some equally fucked-up laws, from other, equally, fucked-up states. Suddenly, we don't look so bad...

In California it's illeagal for producers of alcohol beverages to list the names of retailers or restaurants that sell their products in advertising or even in newsletters. Also, no alcohol beverages can be displayed within five feet of a cash register of any store in California that sells both alcohol and motor fuel.

A person can be sent to jail for five years for merely sending a bottle of beer, wine or spirits as a gift to a friend in Kentucky. (sorry Jethro)

Maryland law, now requires that alcohol beverage writers be certified as experts, by an agency of the state before they can receive product samples, which it limits to three bottles per brand.

In Missouri, anyone under the age of 21 who takes out household trash containing even a single empty alcohol beverage container can be charged with illegal possession of alcohol in Missouri.

If a law enforcement officer is having a drink, in a bar, in Iowa. And an employee pours water down the drain, the water is legally considered an alcohol beverage intended for unlawful purposes. (huh?) Also, running a "tab" in Iowa is illegal as well. Don't go anywhere, there's more... An owner or employee of an establishment in Iowa that sells alcohol can't legally consume a drink there after closing for business.

In Connecticut, pharmasits must pay $400.00 each year for a license, in order to use alcohol in compounding prescriptions. (what a scam!)

The entire Encyclopedia Britannica is banned in Texas. Why? because it contains a recipe for making beer that can be used at home. Also, (I hope your all sitting down) Texas state law prohibits taking more than three sips of beer at a time while standing.

In Indiana, it's illegal for liquor stores to sell milk or cold soft drinks. They can, however, sell uinrefrigerated soft drinks.

Nebraska state law prohibits bars from selling beer unless they are simultaneously brewing a kettle of soup... I'm speachless.

North Dakota law, prohibits serving beer and pretzels at the same time in any bar or restaurant. That's just wrong!

Here's more from the great "state" of Texas, beer many not be purchased after midnight on Sunday, but can be purchased anytime on Monday...which happens to begin right after midnight on Sunday! So, it's illegal to buy it... when its legal to buy it?

Colorado law requires that wine be sold in containers of at least 24 ounces and spirits in containers at least a fifth of a gallon. But, at the same time, it also decrees that no alcohol beverage can be stored in hotel minibars in anything larger than miniature containers.

Ohio state law prohibits getting a fish drunk. Faciasts!!!

In Alaska, it's illegal to give a moose any booze. That explains alot about Bullwinkle.

It's illegal to sit on any street curb in St. Louis, Missouri, and drink beer from a bucket.


Brendan said...

thanks for visiting my blog and making a beer comment.

I have a very funny beer and utah story I will be sending you.

Brendan said...



Brendan said...

More stupid laws: In Pennsylvania, the unit by which beer is sold is the case, which means that buying a case of beer is very cheap, but a six-pack is sold, and taxed, by the BOTTLE.
A sixer of Yuengling sells for about $6.00 in Connecticut, but almost $10.00 in PA; a case of Yunegling in PA is about $12.00.

Anonymous said...

Most of these laws are just some crap that has been sitting on the books since the 1800's. Now your idiotic laws in Utah are very much enforced. I'll take my NC brews anyday over the bs that y'all have to go through.

Stevie J said...

I live in Nebraska and the "beer and soup" law is a total fabrication. No less an authority than the Nebraska Department of Revenue has debunked it. Their official response can be seen below.


I'm not a Nebraska native, so I don't mind a few jokes about us being a flyover state, but let's not make up ridiculous laws that don't exist.

Rudolph Brumby said...

Furthermore, the Texas law about times when alcohol can be sold is actually perfectly logical and valid. "Midnight on Sunday" is the moment it ticks over from 11:59:59pm Saturday to 12:00am Sunday, beginning the day. So, alcohol cannot be sold from 12:00am Sunday to 11:59:59pm Sunday, but from 12:00am Monday onward. It's just the funky way time is described that throws you off.

This is a pretty standard 'blue law.' Here in Michigan, an old 'blue law' declares that alcohol cannot be sold before noon on Sunday, but is fine any time after. (That is, as of this writing. The legislature is considering removing this law right now.)